Feel free to respond in the blog below.  Let me know how things are going at your new schools and if you need help with something, then I might be able to guide you in the right direction.

Take care everyone,

Mr. Dobbie
Sukhpreet Manan
10/4/2011 05:50:20 am

Hey Mr. Dobbie!! :) school is good so far but hard and hows it going at your school?

Reply
Manvir
10/25/2011 02:23:44 am

Hi Mr. Dobbie! How are you and the new sixers? School's fine, just took a few days for me to get used to it! I like Business and English so far, Art is okay, but I don't like Math.
I really miss grade 8, I can't believe I thought grade 8 was so hard; grade 9 is harder! I wish I was back in grade 6...
So how are your new students doing? Are you giving them enough homework?! :)

Reply
Japreet
10/25/2011 05:40:31 am

Hi Mr.Dobbie! how are you? I'm fine and thanks to you math seems sort of easy to me now. The learning skills course is sort of helping and I've adjusted to high school pretty well. But i've noticed that the majority of people in my classes are from great lakes and sunnyveiw there are very little people from lougheed, I guess most people went to Louise arbour. oh and how is your grade six class do they have to do potw too or was that just for us?

Reply
Gurnam
10/25/2011 10:41:17 am

Hey Mr.Dobbie!!! :D hehe north park is so...let's just say im loaded with homework nowadays :( i got math, science, and business all in the same semester :| so i guess school is going great :L neways are the grade 6's afraid of you?! :O I'm pretty sure they were uncomfortable for atleast the first few weeks :P

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
11/6/2011 08:18:15 am

Grade 6 is very busy. I am working hard in school too because I am required to create all new activities for grade 6. My students are happy and respectful. They are learning the importance of hard work too.
I hope you are all maintaining a balanced lifestyle (school work with exercise and eating well).
I'm happy to hear from you all.
Take care and send me updates.
Mr. Dobbie

Reply
Manvir
11/22/2011 11:50:44 pm

lol tell the grade 6's that i said hi, and tell them that they're totally lucky to have an expert and awesome teacher! I really really really miss Lougheed and Grade 8, funny how you don't realize the best parts of life until they're over, right? I'm really thankful that you were my math teacher, because im doing good in math whereas a lot of the other ibt students are getting 50's and 60's. I really don't like the way my math teacher teaches my math class, her style is confusing because she mostly wants us to do the math her way and she doesn't explain things properly. But I guess I can live with her, she's not that bad!
Are you planing to continue teaching grade 6 or are you thinking about teaching a different grade? Are you teaching them math and science or are you teaching them a different subject? :D Please reply! :) :P

Reply
Japreet
12/4/2011 10:49:12 pm

lol... Manvir thats so true you don't ever realize how grreat something is until its gone. Like I math was hard last year but now I'm doing fine. Do your grade sixes do potw?

Reply
savitoj
12/12/2011 08:23:28 pm

Mr. Dobbie if a school invites you to a math class to see how the student is doing will you come?

Reply
twinkle
1/11/2012 05:29:02 am

mr. dobbie, i don't get this question?
which letters of the alphabet could you not create by walking in front of the motion detector?

Reply
twinkle
1/11/2012 05:29:06 am

mr. dobbie, i don't get this question?
which letters of the alphabet could you not create by walking in front of the motion detector?

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
2/8/2012 12:08:25 pm

Hi Everyone. Glad to hear school is going well! The grade 6s ARE doing POTW and are developing good problem solving skills. They have also been permitted to bring in their own technology, so our class is almost fully online. We are troubleshooting the use of many different types of software to help us interact both in the classroom and at home (so the classroom is virtually everywhere we can log in).
I am happy that you are prepared for work this year. Glad you've learned that your hard work pays off!
Savitoj, have your teacher/administrator contact me and we might be able to schedule a visit. (It's hard though because I am in my classroom, so I would need a supply teacher to cover me when I'm not there).
Twinkle, the motion detector question is very creative. From my experience, alphabet questions usually refer to lines of symmetry but you might need more information/visual support to help you solve this problem. (I don't want to just give you the answer because its more fun to find it yourself!)

Take care everyone and have fun learning! If you get time off and would like to visit grade 6 students, then my class is always available. My current students can learn a lot from your experience.

Reply
savitoj
2/10/2012 09:24:47 pm

Mr Dobbie thanks for the reply
it was a pleasure being in your class last year. You thought us so much. Grade 9 math was so easy. I got the highest mark in my class because you thought us so math so well. How are the grade 6s doing?

Reply
Naman
2/27/2012 12:46:45 am

Hello Mr.Dobbie. Which school do you go to? Me and Sukhpreet would like to visit one time and get our volunteer hours.

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
4/18/2012 11:49:46 am

Hi Everyone. I am currently teaching grade 6 at Treeline PS in Brampton. Please let me know if you plan on visiting, so I can arrange it with the principal.

Reply
Japreet
5/2/2012 07:40:00 am

hey Mr.Dobbie, i don't understand this question.
when experimenting with a metal-leaf electroscope, why is it possible for an uncharged object to appear charged if no charge has been transferred to it?

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
5/16/2012 02:53:10 am

How could you use technology to help you research a possible answer to this question?
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090406131252AAggXYF

Reply
Hakem
5/7/2012 11:02:43 pm

DOBBIE!!! Man were loving HB! We miss u so much!!! By the looks of these comms, it looks like those grade 6's will be having fun with those 'POTW's!! Just hope ur having a good time as are we!! Hope to see you soon!
- Hakem

Reply
sukhpreet
6/15/2012 03:17:18 am

math in grader nine is so easy im getting a 93 right now :)

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
7/22/2012 11:38:39 am

I'm glad to hear that you are succeeding in high school. Remember, that you are your best asset and the main reason that you have succeeded. Continue to work hard and make good decisions!
FYI, I have moved to Sir John A. MacDonald Sr. Public School in Brampton, Ontario. I am teaching in the Science & Application Center at the school (great opportunity).
Please keep in touch and let me know how you are doing.
Mr. Dobbie

Reply
Sukhpreet
9/9/2013 08:33:04 am

Mr. Dobbie i saw you in the star newspaper with building benches instead of tables for students to use

Reply
Mr. Dobbie
9/9/2013 08:47:54 am

Hi Sukhpreet. Yes! That was me in the paper. I am starting a new program within Peel called NorthSciTech. We are based out of Centennial Sr PS. Its a regional program, so students have to apply, and we study the world while applying science and technology in our inquiry to solve problems. I am working with grade 6 students again but the program will be expanding to grade 7 and 8 over the next two years.
Thanks for keeping in touch!
Talk to you soon I hope.
Say hi to everyone from our old class please.
Have a great night.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Lougheed, Middle, School, math, science, Mr. Dobbie, Mr. Dobie, mr.dobbie, mr.dobie